Why Adele’s ‘Someone Like You’ Makes Everyone Cry – WSJ.com

One for my fellow music geeks out there: – I recommend a look at this interesting article on the psychology of Adele’s Someone Like You.

Why Adele’s ‘Someone Like You’ Makes Everyone Cry – WSJ.com.

For me, this confirms what I knew all along – music makes you feel awesome. So, I suppose it makes sense that a particular type of audio stimulation causes your body to release dopamine.

Which is a cue for me to crowbar in this joke: Yay!

Serotonin and Dopamine (source toothpastefordinner.com)

 

P.S apologies for the short post today – it’s the start of a busy weekend, you know. Next weeks posts will be longer, I promise.

2 Comments

Filed under Opinionated

2 responses to “Why Adele’s ‘Someone Like You’ Makes Everyone Cry – WSJ.com

  1. That’s weird – very little makes me feel worse than hearing Adele. I want to like her music but it’s so depressing I can’t bear to listen to it!

    • That’s the thing with music – it’s subjective. But weirdly the article suggests that even if music makes you sad, it still causes a dopamine response. Perhaps that’s why when people are a bit down they turn to sad music.

      Although studies like this can identify certain musical traits that generally elicit a particular response, it won’t be the same for everyone of course. There’s no accounting for taste, lol.

      As for Adele in particular, I quite like her music but wouldn’t describe myself as a massive fan. I can’t deny that her songs are emotional though.

Leave a Reply

