The 30 Day Song Challenge, Part 11: Days 27, 28, 29 and 30

Before I disappear from the blogosphere for a Christmas holiday time break, I thought it would be good to finally finish the 30 day song challenge… So, in a slightly extended post, here are the last four songs from the challenge:

Day 27: A Song That You Wish You Could Play : Hey Joe, Jimmi Hendrix


I mean, who wouldn’t want to play that riff? Actually, I might have a crack at learning it… I suspect the solo parts may be a bit beyond my basic guitar skills, but who knows, it might just work.

Day 28 – A Song That Makes You Feel Guilty: Friendly Fire, Ben Marwood


Why this song invokes a vague feeling of guilt and sadness I’m not sure. But it does, in a slightly regretful nostalgic way. I guess it’s because the lyrics ring true, although they don’t directly apply to any situation I’ve been in personally, and that, my friends, is the key to excellent lyric writing.

Day29 – A Song From Your Childhood: The Beatles, While My Guitar Gently Weeps


We all grow up listening to the music our parents liked. My folks like The Beatles, Carole King, Fleetwood Mac and Mike Oldfield.. you know, that kind of thing… While My Guitar Gently Weeps was and still is one of my favourites from that selection. I love it.

Day 30 – Your Favourite Song at This Time Last Year:  Many of Horror (When We Collide), Biffy Clyro


I was kind of happy when Matt Cardle covered this song last year… I thought, well at least he’s singing a good song and maybe that will draw attention to the original artists Biffy Clyro, who are great (although I was annoyed when they didn’t call it Many of Horror). But then, wondering around a supermarket one day, I actually heard it – a startling example of how sickly sweet over-produced pop-i-ness can decimate a song. S**t.

Oh well, here is the original version in all its glory. ‘Mon the Biffy!

See you all after Christmas!

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 Day Song Challenge

Leave a Reply

