NASA Telescope Confirms Alien Planet in Habitable Zone – Yahoo! News

I don’t usually blog about science – or news for that matter – but this article is quite exciting, so I thought I’d share it: NASA Telescope Confirms Alien Planet in Habitable Zone – Yahoo! News.

Yes, that’s right – NASA have found a planet very much like our own, where the average surface temperature is in the correct range to find liquid water, and where alien life could potentially be found.

Kepler-22b

Artist's rendering of planet Kepler-22b (Image from NASA via Yahoo News)

And because I am a geek, I think this is awesome.

Yay science!

Also, apologies for the lack of proper updates this week – I’ve turned out to be busier than anticipated. Will endeavour to get better at posting regularly again, as I’ve been a touch on the slap-dash side lately.

5 Comments

Filed under Science and Geekery

5 responses to “NASA Telescope Confirms Alien Planet in Habitable Zone – Yahoo! News

  1. totally yay for science! and aliens! I wonder what we’ll find? they will think that WE are the aliens.

    • If you think about it realistically, the chances that any lifeforms we find will be bigger than bacteria is sooo small…. But it’s such a cool thought that perhaps complex life could be on another planet!

      We will all have to wait patiently and see what happens… 🙂

  2. Wow, I read the article the other day. I think it’s cool too. But I’m just scared that someday our planet will be like the one in Wall-E. 😐

    • I’m not sure that finding another planet that also has liquid water is going to be a catalyst to thinking “it’s ok we can go somewhere else” as we consume our resources. The technology for actually getting to another planet outside our solar system seems quite a long way off at the moment.

      However, I agree – we mustn’t take what we have for granted. We need to look after the earth to make sure that our impact on the planet is more positive.

  3. Pingback: NEW FOUND ALIEN PLANET IS BEST CANDIDATE YET TO … | Night Clubs - yourtraveladvisor.info

Leave a Reply

