The 30 Day Song Challenge, Part 7: Days 15, 16 and 17

Tut – the week’s gone by and I haven’t updated my blog. That’s very slack of me.

But then, I am a slacker – so…

Anyway, on to today’s post. I have promised a few people that I’ll write a review of last weekend’s Somerfest – a small pub-based festival held at The Somerset Arms, but because it’s Friday afternoon and I’m writing this during my lunch break (over some delicious pea and ham soup, I might add), I’m going for the easy option of The 30 Day Song Challenge – where we’re now advancing on to Days 15, 16 and 17.

Day 15: A Song That Describes You – Secret Smile, Semisonic

Hmm. Tricky one.

I’m not sure whether this song does really describe me… In fact, I don’t think any one song can describe a person truly, as we’re always changing. The person I am now is not the person I was back in the day. Hmm – that’s getting a bit philosophical for a Friday… But anyway, I can relate to  Secret Smile, and it’s one of those songs that pops into my head randomly, even when I haven’t heard it for ages and I’m usually happy to have it there. That’s really why I chose it.

Day 16: A Song That You Used To Love But Now Hate – Cigarettes and Alcohol, Oasis

I’ve spoken before about my love of Oasis turning into hate. They were my choice for “A Song From a Band You Hate” too, because as I have matured in my musical taste, their work has aged. And aged badly at that. Cigarettes and Alcohol kind of sums up everything I used to like about Oasis but now hate. The lyrics which once seemed rebellious now seem thuggish; the guitars which sounded noisy and cool to my ears back then now sound like a re-hashing of every rock song ever produced, and Liam’s vocal which I used to hear as sneeringly arrogant (in a good way) is now nasally arrogant (in a bad way).

Basically, I grew up.

Day 17: A Song That You hear Often On The Radio – Pumped Up Kicks, Foster The People

As a faithful 6 Music listener, I get to hear stuff on the radio that doesn’t annoy me – which makes a nice change to the rubbish on the commercial airwaves these days.

6 Music has really got behind this single, so basically, I’ve had it in my head on and off for about a month (and I’ve been singing it to myself at work, which doesn’t sound good considering the lyrical content… sorry if I’ve been scaring you workmates – it’s just a song… heh, heh *awkward cough*).

So, that’s it for today – don’t worry, I will get my arse in gear and finish my Somerfest review over the weekend. Promise!

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 Day Song Challenge

Leave a Reply

