The Thirty Day Song Challenge, Part 4: A Song That Reminds You of a Certain Event/A Song That You know All The Words To

Day 7: A Song That Reminds You of a Certain Event: Smells Like Teen Spirit – Nirvana

Smells Like Teen Spirit might be an obvious choice for somebody around my age, but this song was so huge for ages that it’s bound to remind quite a few people of those times way back in the 90s.

For me, it actually brings up memories of two things – first, my secondary school prom. I danced to this song on my own because none of my friends would dance with me. It was fun anyway.

Secondly, it reminds me of the first time I sang in public with a band. We were not good (although at the time it didn’t seem as awful as I think it was looking back on it now) – it was at college, in a sports hall with bad acoustics and we covered this song after not a great deal of practice. But from that terrible performance (and a few others… I’ll not go into details!) I learnt that it’s a good idea to make sure a song suits your voice before you try to sing it in front of people. Oh, and to practice more!

But anyway, despite me doing awful covers of it, this is just an excellent song!

Day 8: A Song That You Know All The Words To: Running Up That Hill – Kate Bush

And talking of excellent songs….

There’s quite a few songs that I know all the words to (I’m a musician, don’t cha know!) so picking just one was quite tricky. I chose Running Up That Hill because it’s a song that I’ve re-connected with fairly recently. I knew the original version as a kid (Mum is a fan and, coincidentally, this is her favourite Kate Bush song), but was reminded of it after hearing the Placebo cover for the first time a few months ago. I quite like their version, but the original is still the best.

Hope you enjoy the video.

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 Day Song Challenge

Leave a Reply

