The 30 Day Song Challenge Part 3: A Song that Reminds You of Somewhere/Someone

Day 5: A Song That Reminds You of Someone – The Remote Part, Idlewild

This song fills me full of wistful longing. And yes, it reminds me of someone…

Day 6: A Song That Reminds You of Somewhere: Run Away – Ells

Alright, this one is a little on the cheeky side – the reason that this song reminds me of a particular place is because I wrote it.

Run Away was written when I lived in Tetbury, and to be honest, I felt a little trapped there. I was also in a dead-end job at the time, and that really amplified the feeling of wanting to get away. This song was born of that feeling, and the place that I wanted to escape to is the Gower Peninsular, specifically the beautiful beaches there at Oxwich Bay and Three Cliffs Bay.

I love the beach – there’s nothing more tranquil for me than sitting on the coast watching the waves, whether the seas are calm or raging. I always get lost in a sense that everything is fleeting and that problems will pass. So, this song was meant to capture my frustrations at being trapped, and explore the joy of escaping to somewhere that I knew my problems wouldn’t matter so much.

Let me know what you think.

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 Day Song Challenge

Leave a Reply

