The 30 Day Song Challenge Part 2: A Song That Makes You Happy, A Song That Makes You Sad

Day 03 – A song that makes you happy (Good Luck Mr. Gorsky – Sleeper)

I don’t know why this song makes me happy, but it does. Maybe it’s the combination of whimsy and normality present in the lyrics – the way that Mr Gorsky is portrayed as an older guy acting like a big kid despite this being frowned upon by the neighbourhood, and the way that the song celebrates these small acts of rebellion. Maybe it’s Louise Werner’s delivery – her vocals give an added sense of wonder with the slightly breathy way that she sings. Or maybe it’s just because it’s a cool song. Whatever it is, please enjoy the video:


Day 04 – A song that makes you sad (Long Live the Queen – Frank Turner)

I actually find it hard to listen to Long Live the Queen all the way through, it has that much of an emotional effect on me. The thing is this; the song is in honour of one of Frank’s friends, who passed away after battling with cancer. For me, it brings up memories of my father in law, who also fought with cancer and lost. Although the specifics are very different, the emotion that the lyrics stir up are quite raw, even now.

And on that melancholy note, I’ll leave you with Frank Turner:

2 Comments

Filed under 30 Day Song Challenge

2 responses to “The 30 Day Song Challenge Part 2: A Song That Makes You Happy, A Song That Makes You Sad

  1. cakesandcuddles

    Had never heard ‘Long Live the Queen’ before and am really glad I did! Cancer stole my Dad three years ago so this song brought a bit of a lump to my throat as I read the lyrics, yet it still manages to be catchy. Bravo!

  2. Thanks – I love this song, but as I say above, it can be quite hard to listen to. Brings a lump to my throat every time too.

Leave a Reply

