A Mini Challenge: 16 Charitable Ways to Celebrate Valentine’s Day

Pink Heart SprinklesIt’s Valentine’s day today. A day I used to hate when I was single and have subsequently become cynical about, even though I am now married and have every reason to celebrate this day of love. I see the day as commercial – a way of selling more cards and pointless heart-shaped items – nothing to do with true, deep feelings.

But maybe my cynicism is mis-placed. This post 16 Charitable Ways to Celebrate Valentine’s Day, has made me re-think the point of Valentines. Maybe we shouldn’t place the onus on romantic love. Maybe we should take this day and make it a celebration of all kinds of love, and take the time to make sure that the important people in our lives know that we care, and are prepared to make time for them, whether they are friends, family or partners.

It is also mentioned in the post that today is the start of Random Acts of kindness week – a concept that I find really quite appealing. So, I’ve made myself a little challenge – I will try to be kind everyday this week, whether in my own small ways, or maybe to take part in the official Extreme Kindness Challenge. Sounds fun!

I’ll let you know how I get on next week, but if you have any ideas for ways to be kinder let me know!

(P.S. my usual music based ramblings will return next post, with a review of not one, but two albums)

1 Comment

Filed under It's My Life

One response to “A Mini Challenge: 16 Charitable Ways to Celebrate Valentine’s Day

  1. Pingback: The Kindness Report (or the Results of my Mini Kindness Challenge) | Ells' Blog

Leave a Reply

