Gig Review – MEMM Presents: The CITIZENS, LOUNGE FLY, BODYGLASS + SHANNON SAUNDERS

Jon and I went to see a few bands on Friday… it’s been a while since we’ve let off some steam, so Friday’s line up at Riffs seemed like a perfect opportunity to do just that.

Lets start at the beginning then – Shannon Saunders. Pretty good, although it was difficult to hear her over the babble of the crowd, which seemed like most of her school had come… Good to know she has a following, but it would be nice if they would pay enough attention so that everybody could hear better and not stand at the front and talk loudly (sorry, I just hate that at gigs – if you’re not going to listen stay at the back! Rant over now.) Young  Shannon has a lovely voice though, and I think in the next few years we’ll be hearing a lot more from her as she develops – definitely one to watch out for.

Next up – Bodyglass. I’ll be honest, I’d never heard of these guys before, and I was fairly impressed. They were pretty tight as a band, and their tunes were kind of catchy – they got the crowd tapping their feet along nicely. On the negative side though, they did sound quite similar to, well, most other bands that are around at the mo…

Next was the band we actually went to see – Loungfly. So, probably I’m biased due to having heard and liked these guys before (although this was the first time I’ve seen them live), but for me Loungefly was the band of the night. The 6 piece band manage to create a sound that while full, is not overcrowded as each part has its own space. They use catchy riffs, great vocal harmonies and they make a sound that is their own. My only complaint was that the guitars and bass overpowered the vocals somewhat, but that was fairly minor as the band came across very well.

Finally, the headliner of the night – The Citizens. I admit I was flagging a bit after a long week by the time these guys came on, but they were worth sticking round for. Strong songs, strong performance and a great end to the night. I have to say,  I possibly didn’t give them as much attention as they deserved, due to my tiredness but I’ll definitely be checking them out next time they’re in town.

So, all in all a pretty cool night with a pretty cool line-up. Well done MEMM and Riffs, keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Music Reviews

Leave a Reply

